Schools are required to administer the following level 3-5 tests:

  • English reading
  • English grammar, punctuation and spelling (new for 2013)
  • mathematics

Schools may also choose to administer level 6 versions of these tests. Headteachers should consider a child’s expected attainment before entering them for the level 6 tests as they should already be demonstrating attainment above level 5. The child must achieve a level 5 in the level 3-5 test and pass the corresponding level 6 test in the same year to be awarded an overall level 6 result. If the child does not pass the level 6 test they will be awarded the level achieved in the level 3-5 test.

Results from the level 6 tests will continue to be used in the accountability framework for 2012/13. Further information will be published on this website in the spring term.

There will not be a Key Stage 2 science sampling test in 2013; a new, biennial (every other year), pupil-level sampling system will be introduced in 2014. 

2015 SATS Test dates

The 2015 Key Stage 2 tests took place from 11-14 May. Schools were asked to keep this period free for administering the Key Stage 2 tests.

Date Level 3-5 tests* Level 6 tests*
Monday 11 May English reading test English reading test
Tuesday 12 May English grammar, punctuation and spelling test English grammar, punctuation and spelling test
Wednesday 13 May

Mental mathematics test

Mathematics - Test A

Thursday 14 May Mathematics - Test B

Mathematics - Paper 1

Mathematics - Paper 2

* If a school is administering both the level 3-5 and level 6 test in a subject, STA recommends administering level 3-5 in the morning, and level 6 in the afternoon.